Coverart for item
The Resource This is how we fly, Anna Meriano, (electronic resource)

This is how we fly, Anna Meriano, (electronic resource)

Label
This is how we fly
Title
This is how we fly
Statement of responsibility
Anna Meriano
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A loose retelling of Cinderella, about a high-school graduate who--after getting grounded for the whole summer--joins a local Quidditch league and finds her footing, perfect for fans of Dumplin', Fangirl, and everyone who's read and adored Harry Potter. 17-year-old vegan feminist Ellen Lopez-Rourke has one muggy Houston summer left before college. She plans to spend every last moment with her two best friends before they go off to the opposite ends of Texas for school. But when Ellen is grounded for the entire summer by her (sometimes) evil stepmother, all her plans are thrown out the window. Determined to do something with her time, Ellen (with the help of BFF Melissa) convinces her parents to let her join the local muggle Quidditch team. An all-gender, full-contact game, Quidditch isn't quite what Ellen expects. There's no flying, no magic, just a bunch of scrappy players holding PVC pipe between their legs and throwing dodgeballs. Suddenly Ellen is thrown into the very different world of sports: her life is all practices, training, and running with a group of Harry Potter fans. Even as Melissa pulls away to pursue new relationships and their other BFF Xiumiao seems more interested in moving on from high school (and from Ellen), Ellen is steadily finding a place among her teammates. Maybe Quidditch is where she belongs. But with her home life and friend troubles quickly spinning out of control--Ellen must fight for the future that she wants, now she's playing for keeps. Filled with heart and humor, Anna Meriano's YA debut is perfect for fans of Dumplin' and Hot Dog Girl. Praise for This is How We Fly: "Anna Meriano's This is How We Fly is a delightful treat of a book that will make you want to grab your broom and go! A story of a young woman at a crossroads summer, this tale tackles the growing pains of late adolescence - family struggles, changing friendships, new crushes - with so much grace and heart. See you on the pitch!" - Jennifer Mathieu, author of The Liars of Mariposa Island and Moxie "This is How We Fly breathes new life into a sport and retelling we think we know and lets them bake beneath the Texas sun. Anna Meriano has written one of the most authentic teen voice I've read in years."--Nina Moreno, author of Don't Date Rosa Santos "This is How We Fly is, at its heart, about fierce friendships, flirty beaters, and firsts. Anna Meriano takes the magical fairytale of Cinderella and gives it a bookish twist. Ellen is an existential crisis on a broom and I love her." - Ashley Poston, National Bestselling Author of Geekerella "Meriano adeptly weaves questions of identity, friendship and family into this delightful summer tale about the thrilling world of club Quidditch. At times both hilarious and heartbreaking, this incredible story is sure to leave you flying high."--Jennifer Dugan, author of Hot Dog Girl and Verona Comics
Cataloging source
RECBK
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Meriano, Anna
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
Intended audience
12 years and up
LC call number
PZ7.1.M4759
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • OverDrive, Inc
  • Recorded Books, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Stepfamilies
  • Families
  • Vegans
  • Quidditch (Game)
  • High school graduates
  • Stepfamilies
  • Families
  • Quidditch (Game)
  • Coming of age
  • Stepfamilies
  • Family life
  • Families
  • High school graduates
  • Quidditch (Game)
  • Stepfamilies
  • Vegans
  • Texas
  • Texas
  • Houston (Tex.)
  • Texas
  • Texas
  • Texas
Target audience
adolescent
Label
This is how we fly, Anna Meriano, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Color
multicolored
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780593116883
Level of compression
unknown
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
3f0fcdae-4bdc-4d1c-85fe-2c9ebf6578ff
Publisher number
EB00811851
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1159780558
  • (OCoLC)on1159780558
Label
This is how we fly, Anna Meriano, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Color
multicolored
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780593116883
Level of compression
unknown
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
3f0fcdae-4bdc-4d1c-85fe-2c9ebf6578ff
Publisher number
EB00811851
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1159780558
  • (OCoLC)on1159780558

Library Locations

    • Wadleigh Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      49 Nashua Street, Milford, NH, 03055, US
      42.835245 -71.647914